Day Twelve

This is by far the longest and most consistent I have been with blogging. I guess that shows the passion I have for prepping and homesteading.

Still reading all the horrors in the news. Now Iowa is issuing “community ID cards“… supposedly to help immigrants without documentation obtain aid (which doesn’t make any sense whatsoever) but I feel it has far more sinister implications. But as I said before, I’m not going to go into my political views, though I’m sure you’ll pick up on my subtle hints here and there.

My sister came to visit today so there was no prepping or homesteading. But I did try a new recipe, with a bonus – it would be very easy to store the ingredients for it! Check out this Taco Bake over at Gooseberry Patch. I tweaked it a little – added a can of drained sweet corn, increased the cheddar, and left out the Parmesan and green onions. Everyone raved about it (including me) and it has made its way into our dinner rotation. It was also really easy and fairly quick (about 45 minutes total with only about 25 minutes of prep).

I was really craving tacos but we didn’t have all the necessary ingredients, and I loathe going to the store on the weekend. So I searched for a taco casserole but everything called for tortillas or chips. I could have made tortillas but I don’t like putting them or chips in casseroles because they just get soggy. I found this recipe and really liked that it used macaroni for the starch. So I tried it to much success. Check it out, you won’t regret it!

We ordered a Food Saver vacuum sealer yesterday on Ebay. It was a display model so the box is banged up but I think the actual machine will be fine. Got a nice discount (almost half price) and free shipping. I also found some resealable, reusable bags on Amazon for fairly cheap. Just toss them in the dishwasher and dry them good and you can reuse them. Pretty awesome. I think it’s going to work wonders for us. I’ll let you know how it works and if we like it after I get it and use it.

Leave a Reply

